The Coolest Losers

Just your typical blog for personal expression!!!

Yes, Empaths Do Exist!

5 Comments


Yes, Empaths Do Exist!

Since I was in 7th grade I have only had one secret that I made sure to never tell anybody. However, like all secrets, there have been a select few individuals that I have revealed this secret to; four to be exact. It has been hard for to accept this secret as something real and not just me being crazy. I have always been a logical person and someone who is rational and reasonable, hence, my affinity for the physical sciences. This is why it took me until the age of seventeen before I actually acknowledged this aspect of myself and why I have always kept it a very tight secret. Keeping this a secret has added more burden on me than I intended and has complicated many things in my life. Again, due to a recent experience I have decided that I will no longer keep it a secret. Here in this post I am going to reveal to the world without any regards who believes me or who believes that I am crazy. I know it to be true and the people I have told up to this point know it to be true and that is all that really matters to me.

8145_1280x800Being a man of faith I believe in many things that are not bound in concrete science. Still, being a scientist it is hard for me to believe things that cannot be definitely explained with evidence or supported with facts. I know this makes me seem a bit of a hypocrite but I will save this explanation for another date. It is because of my pragmatic personality that in seventh grade when I started having very vivid dreams that would later come true. At the time,  I just thought I was having deja vu or some other easily explainable experience. It wasn’t until I was in 10th grade when I got close with my best friend, Adrian M. and I finally told somebody about these weird “feelings” I was experiencing. Actually, she picked up on them before I even had a chance to tell her. She would tell me how I always knew what was going to happen before it did and how nobody could ever catch me off guard. I remember she used to have me tell her if someone was lying to her or not because I was always right. We eventually coined the term “my feeling” for the myriad of sensations I experienced. Anytime we were unsure about something she would ask, “What does you feeling tell you?” or “Are you feeling anything weird?” For four years, she kept my secret and never once thought I was weird. I thank her immensely for that. By the time I started dating my wife I had learned what an empath was and how I fit the definition of one. Still, I didn’t think much of it because I didn’t believe that such things existed. It didn’t  take her long to discover that it was hard for her to hide her feelings from me and I seemed to predict what people were going to do and how they were going to react to certain situation. From the moment I told her about it she has never doubted me. She has believed and known that I am an empath longer than I have. In fact, six years would go by before I started to actually refer to myself as an empath and consciously experiment with it.

empath

A few years ago, around the time my wife and I was in marriage counseling, I started seeking personal religious counseling from the mother of one my closest and oldest friends. Her name is Rev. Angela Taylor. I have known her since I was in sixth grade and she is an ordained minister from Duke University School of Divinity. As long as I have known her she has been a devout Christian woman who, in my eyes, has exemplified how to truly live by Christ’s example. I say all this so that you can know she is not just some random religious person that I seek advice from. Her credentials and life speak for themselves. One day, during one of our personal meetings she randomly told me that she knew I had a special gift and that I didn’t not need to be afraid of it. I was taken aback because I didn’t give her any reason to mention this. She actually does this all the time and she says it is the Holy Spirit moving within her guiding her tongue. Wow!  Anyways, that’s when I told her about some of my experiences. She immediately started nodding her head and when I was done she quoted a scripture off the top her head. It was 1 Corinthians 12:10.

” To another the working of miracles; to another prophecy; to another discerning of spirits; to another divers kinds of tongues; to another the interpretation of tongues”:

She read another one also but this is the one that stuck with me. Ms. Angie told me that I was a “discerner” of spirits and that it was a God-given gift that I needed to take serious. She told me that it was my responsibility to get involved with a church and use this gift to do God’s work. She explained to why this was the reason people always seem to come to me for advice and guidance. I haven’t found a church worth getting involved with yet but I try my hardest to do God’s work. After a long discussion in which she explained in detail what this meant I said, “Oh, like an empath?” and she replied, “Yes! Exactly!” Ms. Angie is still my personal religious leader to this day. She prays over me almost every week and she is the one that got me in the habit of praying and meditating with God (because there is a difference) at least once a day. Between her and my wife I can talk freely about my empathic abilities and not feel any kind of self-consciousness and I am extremely grateful for that.

I tell you, OWK has really changed my life. It is crazy how much I am learning about myself since this whole thing has occurred and how much I am developing. If you don’t know who OWK is go back and read about her HERE. Again, she is the reason that I am revealing this lifelong secret of mine. She was the last person I told about it. I felt that comfortable talking to her after only a few weeks of communication. She picked up on it immediately. She even asked me why was it that I always knew exactly what she was feeling. She was the last person that I personally told. Currently, I have an extremely strong link with her that I am having a difficult time dealing with.Probably because I don’t to break the link or at least that’s what my wife says. This is because we are both trying to suppress intense and passionate feelings; however, she is succeeding a lot better than I am. I can feel it. Though she didn’t ridicule me or call me crazy I feel like I revealed this to her way too soon. I feel like I gave her a piece of me without her really earning it. Still, she knows now and I cannot change it. I am happy she knows because it will be harder for her to deny her feelings for me to anyone including herself but I still wish I had waited to tell her. indigos-and-empaths-21350730

I cannot take back telling her but what I can do is take away the significance of her knowing by divulging my secret to the world. Doing this will also free me from hiding it out of fear of ridicule and judgement. So, here in this blog post I officially reveal that I am an empath. I can feel the emotions and feelings of others and project mine onto them. I dream lucidly and sometimes these dreams become reality. Those who have ever came to me for advice now know why I often already know what is bothering them and what they want or need. Now people know how I know their emotions and exactly how they feel about things no matter how much they try to hide it. This is how I knew that I was in love with Torri C. and that she wasn’t in love with me. This is how I knew when my wife and I fell in love. And, alas, this is how I know I love OWK and that she loves me. My empathic abilities have given me a clarity into the hearts of those close to me in ways they couldn’t even imagine but these abilities have negatively affected me too. I am just getting to the point where I can control my clairsentience. In large crowds I am quickly overwhelmed because I have a difficult time handling the influx of feelings I get from all those around me. I can feel and detect good and bad energies in places and around or within people. This sometimes causes me to shell up because I don’t know how to handle it. I am getting better with this now. I still have a ways to go with not only learning how to control these abilities but also accepting them. I recently joined an empath community where they are helping me learn how to meditate and ground myself so don’t remain impaired. They are an excellent group of people who are understanding. They respect me religiously and personally. I am not devil worshiper, or pagan, or anything like that. I am a christian and, also, an empath. The support of this community coupled with my daily prayers and my meetings with my religious adviser, Ms. Angie, I feel myself growing more confident with doing God’s work and finding true happiness for others and myself. Now that my most cherished secret is no longer a secret I feel a burden lifted off of me. Many of you will think I am crazy and not believe me but I expect that. Those of you who do I urge you to ask me about it because questions help me understand this strange thing more. More posts about me being an empath will follow this now that I am free to speak on it so check back often as my journey as an empath truly begins and I share it with all that is interested.

‘Til Next Time…..

Stay Happy My Friends!

-          Lee

5 thoughts on “Yes, Empaths Do Exist!

  1. I believe you. I’ve been fascinated with Deja Vu for the past couple of years. That’s not what I believe you have is. Aunt Angie is right about the discerning spirit thing I believe. What you have is as close to a superpower as many of us can see. There are many things that we experience that we cannot explain yet. I personally believe that God is the Master of all Scientists. He knows how everything works and can use it at His will. We don;t have the capacity or the time to learn all of the things that are possible. There are monks and zen masters that can do things that I wouldn’t believe if I hadn’t experienced them. The question now is… Will you use your powers for good? Or for evil… Mwah ha ha! lol! Great post brother.

  2. No fair. I want superpowers!

  3. the author is blessed by the holy spirit with certain gifts but so are alot of his elect. i am also an empath and have gifts from the holy spirit. But, i take no credit for my abilities and neither should anyone else with these gifts. They come from God. They belong to God. God deserves all glory. We deserve none. We are empty husks that would be beaten down by the world and destroyed if it wasnt for the Holy Spirit dwelling within us. We are nothing . . just dust . . without the Holy Spirit. all praise be to God in the name of Jesus Christ forever and ever. amen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers